Perseverance

I have been reminded today in my Bible time of the difference between perseverance and endurance. It has been great timing for me as I am in the midst of a “trial” that has been on going for several years.

It seems like I have had some form of physical “issue” since I hit my 30’s. It is one of the things that God has used in my life to keep me vulnerable and looking to Him. Most of the time I can honestly say that I praise Him for it because I can sense all He has done in me, and in my family through it. There are those days that I do become weary and feel like sitting on the couch and do nothing but feel sorry for myself! When one deals with “chronic pain” you can’t get away from it! It goes everywhere with you! It does become very wearing!

Yesterday I FELT like I’d reached the end of what I can handle. I became tired and frustrated, because no one seems to be able to figure out what is causing the problems I am having. I had to push through everything I did. I felt like I’d had enough. As I went to bed, my prayer was “HAVE MERCY!!” This morning I read these words, “Perseverance means more than endurance–more than simply holding on until the end. A saint’s life is in the hands of God like a bow and arrow in the hands of an archer. God is aiming at something the saint cannot see, but our Lord continues to stretch and strain, and every once in a while the saint says, “I can’t take any more.”…He goes on stretching until His purpose is in sight, and then He lets the arrow fly. Entrust your self to God’s hands. Is there something in your like for which you need perseverance right now? Maintain your intimate relationship with Jesus Christ through the perseverance of faith. Proclaim as Job did, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust Him” Job 13:15

I am challenged to persevere through this time not knowing when, or if, it will come to an end. The thought of it not ending can be overwhelming, so I am trying to be faithful with this day and not focus on what might be. I am praying that God would lead me to the right source for help. And I am accepting the fact that one can sing the words ” Whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say, ‘It is well! It is well, with my soul!”, and still have tears in their eyes!

~Gina
Chats With An “Old Lady”!

Leave a Reply

