What Are You Known For?

What do I want to be known for? That was a question I asked myself recently. I met a woman and in our conversation she told me that she “home schooled, home birthed, didn’t eat sugar, and had several children.” Although she was very sweet, and all of those things are wonderful things, I noticed that as she was sharing there was an invisible wall going up around those of us who didn’t share the same passion that she did. I observed another lady who was listening to the conversation and saw that she seemed to become discouraged. Knowing that she wanted to home school but her husband was not supportive (and that she was submitting to her husband!) I felt the need to come to her aid! I put my hand on her arm and said, “Isn’t it great that God has given us so many options to choose from?” She seemed more encouraged.

I left that conversation feeling sad, because what that well meaning lady did that day is something I’m sure I’ve done to others without realizing it. I’ve also been on the other side of , when someone has been so passionate about what they had been called to that they ended up criticizing me for what I do differently. There are times when someone will find out that we home school, and I will automatically get a cold shoulder. There was a time when someone actually got irritated with me because I wouldn’t take the vitamins they thought I needed! I felt like saying, “Please take the time to know ME, don’t just label me because of what I do or don’t feel led to do!” It’s so easy to do. We can get so focused on WHAT WE ARE CALLED TO, that we forget to focus on WHO CALLED US! We become devoted to the “issue” rather than doing what we feel led to do out of a devotion to Christ and having HIM be our “passion”.

There can be division when the focus is not right. Rather than focusing on what we have in common as believers, it’s so easy to focus on where we differ. Many of the “issues” are not mandates but personal preferences. My family might be called to do something, and your family to another. As long as we are not disobeying God’s Word we should be able to encourage each other in the Lord and fellowship anyway.

What do I want to be known for? I am called to serve and encourage others. I am called to pursue God and be in His Word. I am called to glorify God in all that I do. I am called to be a light. I am called to humility, repentance, and to have a teachable spirit. I am called to offer my life a living sacrifice. I am called to be a submissive wife, and to raise my children according to biblical principles. I am praying that this will be what I am devoted to, and known for.

What do YOU want to be known for?

~Gina
Chats With An “Old Lady”~

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patrice Fagnant-MacArthur
    Apr 29, 2008 @ 18:59:28

    This is very true! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

