Does God Care About The Little Details?

Does God care about the little details?
*”I have no desire to have children.”
*”I am not sure I even want to get married.”
*”I am unable to have children.”
*”When will God bring me my life partner?”
*”I don’t get along with my parents.”
*”My husband is not a leader in our home.”
*”What should my major be in college?”
*”I really don’t know what I want to do with my life.”
*”I’m worried about my children.”

All of these concerns were shared with some amount of burden.
These are the “details” of our lives that can seem so big. Even consuming at times. I love what Elisabeth Elliot says to do when we are overwhelmed with “the details”. She says, “Just do the next thing…” So simple. Yet it can be easy to forget that we need to focus on doing what we’ve been given to do this moment, and leave the details to our God.

Can we trust God with the details?

Matt. 11:28-30 tells us that God wants to carry the details for us.

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy-laden and overburdened, and I will cause you to rest. (I will ease and relieve and refresh your souls.) Take My yoke upon you and learn of Me, for I am gentle (meek) and humble (lowly) in heart, and you will find rest (relief and ease and refreshment and recreation and blessed quiet) for your souls. For My yoke is wholesome (useful, good-not harsh, hard, sharp or pressing, but comfortable, gracious, and pleasant), and My burden is light and easy to be borne.” It is a comfort to know that God delights in the details of our lives, and that He is more than capable of carrying them!! We can “do the next thing”, and trust Him with the rest!

“The Lord of all creation holds our life in His hands
The God of all the nations holds our life in His hands
the rock of our salvation holds our life in His hands” (Casting Crowns)

~Gina
Chats With An “Old Lady”

Leave a Reply

