Bread of Life

971524_roman_mosaic.jpgAnd Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.  John 6:35 NKJVThen Jesus said to them, “Most assuredly, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink His blood, you have no life in you. John 6:53 NKJV

I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world.”  John 6:51 NKJV

Until we know Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, we are dead in our trespasses and sins.  We may think we’re alive, but in the spiritual world we are dead.  This death is a separation from God.  Once we come to Jesus and believe in Him, we are given a new spiritual life which lives on in relationship with God forever. 

As the living Father sent Me, and I live because of the Father, so he who feeds on Me will live because of Me. John 6:57 NKJV

This new life comes from Jesus.  It can only be obtained by “he who feeds on Me” says Jesus.  Let’s think about bread for a moment, since that’s the symbol Jesus used to try to communicate this message of life. 

Physical bread is used to fill the void and satisfy something within.  It also nourishes, sustains, empowers and strengthens the body.  Eating physical bread causes us to take it in and it becomes part of us.  Our body uses the food to draw nourishment from it to fuel the body.  Likewise, when we take in Christ we are strengthened by Him, nourished by His words, and empowered by His Holy Spirit.

Hunger and thirst are used as symbols of something obviously lacking.  There is an emptiness inside which drives us to fill it.  We can try filling it with possessions, power, money, friends, lust, family, but the only thing that will slack this hunger and thirst is Jesus Christ.

The apostle Paul understood this in Galatians 2:20 NKJV: “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

How about you?  Can you say along with Paul “I no longer live but Christ lives in me”?

Lord Jesus thank you for being our Bread of Life. Thank you for granting us life forever when we come and believe in You. Lord, we take you in as we do bread and drink.  Thank you for your sacrifice that we may live on in you.  In your name we pray. Amen.

© Elizabeth Marks, author of ThinkOnIt Devotions and has a heart for encouraging others with God’s Word.  For more devotions, bible studies and a recommended book store, visit http://www.ThinkOnItDevotions.com today.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clark Bunch
    Apr 25, 2008 @ 02:45:13

    I’m a first-time reader tonight.

    This is good stuff. I’ve preached and taught Gal. 2:20 many times. There used to be a song, but it’s probably getting a little dated by now.

    Reply

  2. Compassion dave
    Nov 07, 2008 @ 21:10:36

    Howdy!

    WORDPRESS says that our two blogs (at least our most recent posts) are related, so I came by to check you out–I hope you enjoy my slant on the topic. Please stop by my blog and let me know what you think (and if you like it, maybe add Jesus + Compassion to your blog roll so we can stay connected).

    God bless you!

    Cd

    Reply

Leave a Reply

