Unlikely Evangelist

But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.
Acts 1:8

Today my pastor was talking about how we are blessed to be able to share Jesus with others. He gave five examples of some folks from the Bible who were unlikely evangelist, but God used them, in spite of themselves.

First was the Samaritan Women (John 4:28-30). She didn’t have much of a reputation, but she invited the others to come and see Jesus. The second was the Blind Guy (John 9:25). He wasn’t really sure how it happened, but he was very willing to share his story of Jesus giving him sight. The third example was Dorcas (Acts 9:36). She possessed a servant’s heart. She was willing to give her life away, to help others. The fourth example was Peter (Acts 2:38,40). He was always putting his foot in his mouth, but God used him to be a mighty preacher of the Gospel and he wasn’t afraid to get in someone’s face to convince, exhort or confront them. And the last example was Paul and Silas (Acts 16:25,28-30). They were real, relevant and revolutionary. Even in the midst of their pain, from the confines of a prison cell, they shared Jesus and won souls for Christ.

These people are true examples of God using our weakness for his gain.

Today I spent most of the day preparing for a road trip. It’s not business … but rather God’s pleasure. I am heading out Monday morning for New Port Richey, Springhill and the Brooksville area to share with three different groups of women what Jesus has done in my life. As I was getting things together, I was thinking that I surely did fall into that list of unlikely evangelists!

If you would have told me 10 years ago that one day I’d be standing up in front of people talking about Jesus, I would have laughed. I didn’t have a clue who Jesus was and I surely didn’t have a relationship with him. And even though I’d started to mellow out a bit, I was much like the Samaritan woman. I had a reputation and it wasn’t very good.

But Jesus didn’t ask me for my resume when he healed my heart and set me free. He cleared the slate and we started fresh together. And it’s so very cool to be just like that blind man and say, “I really don’t know how or why, but once I was blind, and now I can see!”

Father thank you for the opportunity that you’ve given me to share you with others, I pray that hearts will be touched for you. Lord, you are so very cool, the way you take the pains from our past and turn them into gains for your future.

I Love You Jesus.
  In Your Name I Pray,
  Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

