Opportunity Knocks

The Lord was with Joseph and gave him success in whatever he did.
Genesis 39:23

The other day, we received an invitation for Carson to attend The Junior National Leadership Conference which is held in Washington, DC, each spring and summer. My immediate reaction was, “This is wonderful,” but than I started picturing my little boy, alone in Washington, DC, and I immediately thought, “Oh, he can’t go.”

The conference is by invitation only to exceptional 5th and 6th graders, throughout the United States. Now, Bobby and I think Carson is pretty exceptional, but his teacher must think so as well, as she is the one that nominated him for this honor.

Parents cannot attend this particular event with their children, part of the goal of this event is to give the boys and girls an opportunity to be without their parents for a week, in a very structured, well monitored atmosphere – to give them alone time, time to see the world through their own eyes.

The conference will take the kids to various site seeing stops around Washington, including a trip to the White House. It also entails several lectures that they are required to attend, teaching them various leadership skills.

This is an opportunity of a lifetime, and one that Carson really wants to attend.

When I am struggling with a issue, I always go to God, so while driving around the other day I was talking to God about Carson and this trip. And I very clearly and very quickly got peace that it was okay for Carson to go, God has a plan for Carson and this may be a stepping stone for that plan.

And I came home and said, “Okay Mr. Carson, if you really want to do this, and if we can raise the funds to go on this trip, you can go. I will do all I can to help you get to Washington this summer.”

I don’t know how many times in my life I had opportunities to do something good, and I refused. Maybe because I was afraid of change, or maybe because I didn’t want to make the effort or who knows? I just know I walked away from a lot of opportunities.

I don’t want to do that any longer. If God opens the door or even the window, I want to dive through, headfirst!

And I want to encourage my sons to do the same. Yes, there is a time to be cautious and use wisdom in our decisions. But that is not what I’m talking about here.

When opportunity knocks … I want to answer the door!

Father, thank you for this opportunity for Carson to stretch and grow … beyond what Bobby and I could imagine. And thank you for giving me peace. Lord, you know how hard it is for me to let go … but just like the mother birds does, eventually we have to push our babies out of the nest. Although I’m not ready for Carson to leave permanently, I thank you for this opportunity for him to spread his wings and fly a bit on his own.

I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
  Amen

God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce


Submitted by:
   Joyce Schneider
   A Life Decision

Leave a Reply

