The Treasure Within Us

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us. – 2 Corinthians 4:7 (KJV).

The treasure that is in us is Christ Jesus. My pastor tells the story about how he had a bad temper that he just couldn’t master on his own. One day, frustrated from losing his temper, he cried out to God. Every time he was tempted to lose his temper, he would say, “Lord Jesus, I thank You that You are my patience.”

Soon his wife noticed he didn’t fly off the handle all the time any more. Even though, he didn’t see the change in himself, his wife did.

I am a recovering worrier, so in recent days, I have applied this story to my life. When I feel myself about to fret over something, I say, “Lord, I thank You that You are my peace.”

So far I have been more peaceful. Without wasting my time worrying, I’ve found myself able to rest in God’s promises and trust God to come through.

I truly believe that change comes when we depend upon the treasure within us–Jesus Christ.

– Annagail Lynes

Leave a Reply

