Soaking His Finger

Consider it pure joy my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.
James 1:2,3

I came home tonight to find Chase on the couch, soaking his finger. We have been struggling with an infection that popped up last week. We thought we had it under control, then last night it reared it’s ugly head again. Bobby had wanted him to soak his finger in Clorox, I was just not comfortable with that. So I got him some Epsom Salts today and he was very patiently allowing it to work. Last night I coated his finger wih antibotic onintment before he went to bed and he was fussing like crazy at me how much it hurt.

I kept trying to explain to him that a little hurt was necessary, to eliminate huge harm. Tonight when we were in bed praying, I was talking to him again about his finger. Chase has a tendency to hide his hurts from me, until little things become huge. Opps, that is defintely another lesson … but the point I was trying to make with him tonight was that sometimes we have to go through a little pain, so that we don’t have to endure GREAT HARM.

I explained that a little ointment and some time spent soaking his finger was much better for him then if I had to take him to the doctor with an infected finger. I told him I didn’t want him to be afraid to go to the doctor, but if he did not treat his finger now, we’d end up there, and it wouldn’t be so pretty.

We were talking about this concept in Bible Study last week. That sometimes we have to experience a little hurt, so that we don’t experience severe injury.

I know in my journey, there have been times that experiences have hurt me, it can be painful sometimes to do the right thing, but in the long run, the rewards outweigh the discomfort.

In Matthew, Chapter 7, verses 13 and 14, Jesus tells us: “Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

The broad gate is usually the less painful route, but it always leads to trouble … I want to take the narrow gate, even if it hurts a bit, that leads to the road of life!

Father, I thank you for showing me how important it is to walk through the pain of the trials now, so that we can reap the blessings later. Lord, I know that you allow us to endure pain for a time, to save us from even greater trauma later on … help me to embrace the pain, not push it away. And Lord, please heal Chase’s finger quickly so he can go on about his day.

I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
  Amen

God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce

Submitted by:
  Joyce Schneider
  A Life Decision
  http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

