Fixing My Flat

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6,7
Last week I started off to town and I heard a strange sound coming from my car.  I pulled over to the side, got out, and stared at a flat tire.  Ummmmm … not so good.  Even if I knew how to change a tire, I discovered quite quickly that I was not strong enough to get the lug nuts off the wheels.   Even my very strong Bobby, struggled with that part of the process.
But I’m getting ahead of myself.  I gave Bobby a call for help, I haven’t had to do that since I traded in the old truck.  He was a lot more willing to come to my aid, since I’m not calling him twice a week now to rescue me.  It’s been months since he’s received one of these calls.
And as I said, he did have a struggle, but he finally got the tire off and we ran home for him to fix it.  He has all the repair equipment in his shop and within ten minutes we were back with a plugged tire. 

He told me to keep an eye on it and off we went.  I continued about my day, with no further problems.  But once I got home, and the car sat for a couple of hours, it was flat again.

Once again Bobby took it off and put another plug in it.  But in the morning, the tire was flat.  He put on my spare, and told me I would need to take my tire in to see if the shop could fix it.

I really didn’t want to take the time out of my morning to do this … but Bobby informed me I had no choice.  It had to be done, today.

At the shop, they put it in a tub of water, inspected it throughly and informed me they could see no leaks.  They could put it back on or I could replace it.  I was in a hurry and really didn’t want to take the time to wait while they put on a new tire, but I knew it needed done, and if I put it off, it would only cause me more problems.  So I opted to replace it. 
I have a lot of driving to do with my job and I needed the reassurance that when I got in my car, it would run.  I didn’t want to be continually adding air to a low tire or worse, find myself stranded on the side of the road somewhere.
It was a bit of a cost for a new tire, but one I was willing to put out, to have the problem resolved, once and for all.
On the way back to work that morning, I was thinking about how I used to always try to patch up my issues.  I didn’t want to go through the emotional expense of working through the situation.  So I’d do my ‘quick fix’ with a drink or a drug, or pretend it didn’t exist, only to have the problem rear it’s ugly head when I least expected it, or actually sideswipe me and leave me in a mangled, emotional, heap on the side of the road, wondering what hit me.
But not anymore.  I don’t want to patch my problems, I do my best to face them head on.  Yesterday I was struggling.  Not going to go into the details.  But the point is, I didn’t pretend it away.  I worked through it, and when I couldn’t resolve it on my own, I took it to Jesus, and immediately the issue was resolved – His peace was flowing.
I really want to encourage you today, if you are continually trying to put patches on your life, but they seem to not be working, maybe it’s time to stop and get some help … maybe it’s time for a new one.
Father thank you for showing me how fruitless it is to try to put a patch on life issues.  Thank you for giving me the courage to face them head on, even when they hurt.  And thank you for ALWAYS being there for me, to bring your peace that is way better than any patch!
I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
     Amen
God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce
Submitted by:
   Joyce Schneider
   A Life Decision
   http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

