Being Kind

Be knd and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.
Ephesians 4:32
I’ve been thinking alot this week about kindness.  It seems like there is not a lot of it out there in the world.  Yesterday I was sitting at a red light and it changed and before I could even get started, the girl in the car behind me was honking at me and gestering at me with her hands and really throwing a fit.  I could not for the life of me figure out what I had done?  I had not been daydreaming, I was paying attention, but obviously I was not moving fast enough for her and she was letting me know about it.  I kept thinking how miserable she must be, to act like that. 
I am trying to teach the boys to be kind, not only to each other, which is a real stretch at this point in their lives, but to others.  Carson was telling me about a new boy in his class who started crying his first day of school.  That was foreign to Carson, I don’t think he’s ever cried a day in his life at school, even when he was a baby in pre-school.  He’s always loved being in school.  But this little boy was in a new school, didn’t know anyone and was obviously feeling sad.   I encouraged Carson to be kind to him, to be his friend.
The other morning, Chase was starting to make funny faces when one of the little girls that lives across the street came to the bus stop for the first time.  He’s played with her for several years, but she’s never ridden the bus before and he was surprised to see her.  And his way of showing that was to make a face at her.  Well, that didn’t stop her, she marched right up to him and looked him right in the eye and that was that.  Kids are funny.  But I encouraged Chase to not make faces at little girls, cause they will grow up to be big girls and they won’t think it’s so funny later on.
Paul encourages us in Ephesians to be kind and compassionate to each other.  In Galatians he tells us that kindness is one of the fruits of the spirit.  The author of Proverbs tells us that a kindhearted woman (and I’m sure a man fits the description as well) gains respect.  There are example after example of the kindness that Jesus showed to others, during his time on earth.   
I know an act of kindness can make my day … let’s make someone’s day today!
Father, thank You for instilling this into my heart.  It’s so easy to go along with the world.  To be rude back to someone when they are rude to me.  But Lord, I don’t want to be like the world.  I want to be like You!  Help me to be kind and compassionate, regardless of my own circumstances. 
I love You Jesus!
In Your Name I pray,
Amen
God Bless You!
Joyce


God Has Given Me A New Book!

Grass Stains and Giggles
Experiencing God in the Midst of Motherhood
by Joyce Schneider“Grass Stains and Giggles by Joyce Schneider invites you to look again in the daily grind of life. Through heartwarming and colloquial tales about her life adventures of parenting, Joyce offers a glimpse of how to live out your faith in real time, every single day. Allow God to nourish your spirit and bring hope through the journey not in spite of, but in the midst of the frenzy of day-to-day affairs. Grass Stains and Giggles reminds us that God is ever present in caring for His children if we are willing to listen, even when we don’t expect Him to speak. ”

Click Here For Order Information!

Leave a Reply

