M & Ms

 

It was Martha.  Not just any Martha calling, mind you, but Martha the Motor Mouth.  “M &M.”  She’s the kind of person who button-holes you by the lapel, opens her mouth and chews your ear for thirty minutes or more before she takes another breath.  I should’ve left the answering machine on, but I was expecting another call and lifted the receiver when it warbled.  (It seemed like a good idea at the time.) 

“Hello?”  That was the last syllable I managed as I listened to M&M fill the phone line with nothing.  Well, that’s not entirely accurate.  I half-listened, semi-comatose, as I roamed around the house folding laundry, doing dishes and brushing the dog while Martha rattled on.  And on.  And on.  I sagely seasoned the one-way conversation with an occasional “uh-huh,” but I don’t think M&M noticed. 

It was a typical M&M conversation – she talks, I listen.  I have to.  I can’t get a word in edgewise.  I confess stirring up a pound of relief with a generous dose of annoyance when I finally managed to extricate myself from “M&M.”  Until I read “the Lord is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth… he hears their cry and saves them … (Ps. 145:18-19, NIV.)  That got me thinking…

How many times do I rush into the Throne Room of the Most High, jabbering a mile a minute?  How often do I “motor mouth” my list of the day’s wants, wishes, needs, and reminders to Him before coming up for air?  Closer to home, think of it this way: When was the last time you found a quiet place and some undistracted moments and just listened?  How long has it been since you turned off the answering machine and picked up the receiver?  When was the last time you focused solely on the Shepherd and heard His voice?  “my sheep hear my voice…” (John 10:3) 

It takes a regular meeting time and a quiet place.  An open Bible.  An open heart.  Less M&M and more ears.

Kristine K. Lowder

http://www.HEvencense.wordpress.com

Navigating female friendships with candor, faith, and hope.

 

***What is forgiveness? Does forgiveness automatically result in reconciliation? Are the two terms synonymous?

These and other relational questions are explored in McFriends, a probing new novella by Intellectulle contributor Kristine K. Lowder. Set in the gentle Hill Country of south-central Texas, McFriends also examines “drive-thru” relationships and “fast food friends,” showing why both leave us hungry and unsated. Released by Long Story Short (LSS) Publishing Company.

“An amazing writer! I have to praise the author’s gift for description and her command of the language! She’s also terrific with dialogue and conveying emotion. We are pleased to publish this ebook.” — Denise Cassino, Publisher, LSS Publishing

McFriends

McFriends can be found under the Fiction section at: http://www.lsspublishing.com/. A hardcopy version is available in trade paperback at: http://www.lulu.com/content/2041203.
 

Leave a Reply

