My Hope is Built

   My hope is built on nothing less

Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;

I dare not trust the sweetest frame

But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.

On Christ, the solid Rock, I stand

All other ground is sinking sand,

All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness veils His lovely face,

I rest on His unchanging grace;

In ev’ry high and stormy gale

My anchor holds within the veil.

 – Chorus –

His oath, His covenant, His blood

Support me in the whelming flood;

When all around my soul gives way,

He then is all my hope and stay.

– Chorus –

When He shall come with trumpet sound,

O may I then in Him be found,

Dressed in His righteousness alone,

Faultless to stand before the throne.

***

This was one of the hymns my husband and I chose to include in our wedding some 25 years ago.  It’s remained a favorite because it reminds us that our faith is based on fact, NOT feelings.  And that when “all around my soul gives way, He then is all my hope and stay.”  

The Lord Jesus Christ is indeed the anchor that “holds within the veil… all other ground is sinking sand.”  Metaphorically speaking, He is the Father’s best and mightiest “Valentine’s gift” to the world.  John 3:16.

Happy Valentine’s Day,

Kristine

http://www.HEvencense.wordpress.com

“Navigating the realm of female friendships with candor, faith, and hope.”

Leave a Reply

