A Perfect Score

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”
Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.
I Corinthians 12:9
Yesterday Chase came home from the Cub Scout Field  Day with a big grin on his face and a container of muffins.   It seems my little man is quite the sharp shooter.  He scored a perfect score on his BB Gun Challenge, 5 bulls-eyes!  I was quite impressed.  I do venture out and try my hand at the BB gun range when Bobby has it set up, and it’s not that easy to hit that little black spot in the middle of those rings.  And I was even more impressed when Bobby came home and told me that Chase was the only boy, out of all the kids at the event, to earn that score … he was the only one who got to take home the muffins!
It takes a lot of focus to hit a bulls-eye, and even more to hit 5!   I wasn’t there to see it, but I can just picture his little face, concentrating on hitting his goal.
The Bible describes sin as ‘missing the mark.’  
You know, as much as I want to hit a bulls-eye, in my walk with Jesus, as hard as I focus, well, I mess up; I keep missing the mark.  We had the cutest little guest speaker today in church.  He is 95 years old and has been all over the world, sharing Jesus for most of his adult life.  The man is a vessel of wisdom.  And his message to us today was, “Regardless of how hard we try, eventually we will mess up.  We can’t be perfect, but because of God’s grace for us,we don’t have to.” 
What a relief that thought is … I don’t have to wear myself out, trying to be the perfect Christian.  It ain’t ever going to happen.  But because of God’s love for me, I don’t have to.  His power is made perfect in my weakness.  And with that knowledge, I can stop trying to ‘do’ and simply ‘be’. 
Be the me He created me to be!
Father, sometimes words just can’t express the gratefulness that is in my heart.  For all that You are!  I have such a limited knowledge of You, yet it overwhelms me; I can’t even fathom how great You truly are.  We sang tonight, From The Inside Out, and Lord, my heart does cry out to You!  My whole being cries out to You … thank You Father for Your amazing grace.  Grace that can never be measured … that pours freely from Your heart.
I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
     Amen
God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce


God Has Given Me A New Book!

Grass Stains and Giggles
Experiencing God in the Midst of Motherhood
by Joyce Schneider“Grass Stains and Giggles by Joyce Schneider invites you to look again in the daily grind of life. Through heartwarming and colloquial tales about her life adventures of parenting, Joyce offers a glimpse of how to live out your faith in real time, every single day. Allow God to nourish your spirit and bring hope through the journey not in spite of, but in the midst of the frenzy of day-to-day affairs. Grass Stains and Giggles reminds us that God is ever present in caring for His children if we are willing to listen, even when we don’t expect Him to speak. ”

Click Here For Order Information!

   

Leave a Reply

