Pulling Out The Roots

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life,

and have it to the full.
John 10:10

Bobby built a brick patio underneath our house a few years back. Our house is a stilt home, really more like a two story, rather than a traditional Florida stilt home. The bottom is enclosed and has various rooms and sections, off the back of the bottom, in the middle, is where he built this patio.
When he is out working in the yard, he always goes through with his weed whacker and whacks down the weeds that try to pop up between the bricks. He did lay some plastic down, under the bricks to help keep weeds out, but they still sneak through the plastic.
No matter how many times Bobby cuts those weeds down, they always pop back up. The other day I was out in the yard playing with Zeke, and I noticed the weeds popping up through the bricks. I was getting ready to sweep the patio off, and I plopped down and started pulling out the weeds by their roots. I had to put my fingers between the bricks with some of them and I got dirt in my fingernails and my hands were a real mess when I was finished. It was a dirty job. And some of those little weeds had solid roots. They did not give up easily. I was pulling away trying to get them out of that dirt!
I went down stairs today, and I happened to look down at the patio and I noticed that those weeds were still gone! They had not come back. The spaces between the bricks was still clean and neat. I had gotten rid of them, once and for all!
That was the way my life was a while back, just full of weeds (lies from the enemy). I would try to push them down or snip them off, pretend they weren’t really there, but they would just come back fuller and bigger than ever; overwhelming me, distorting my reality with their roots, invading every inch of my soul; choking the life out of me.
It wasn’t a pretty job getting to the roots of those lies and yanking them out. Some of them had been in there a long time. And some of them weren’t pretty and truthfully quite painful coming out. But once those roots were gone, they were gone! They weren’t coming back. And my heart could now be filled up with the TRUTH that Jesus came to give us; LIFE to the full and a PEACE that passeth all understanding!
Way better than the lies!

Father, thank you for showing me the lies that were invading my soul, and Lord Jesus, thank you for helping me yank them out, root by root. It wasn’t always pretty, but Lord you made the reward so worth the effort. Help me to continue to search my heart on a daily basis, to keep it clean and clear, for you!

I love You Jesus.

In Your Name I Pray,

Amen


God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce


My Latest Book!

Grass Stains and Giggles
Experiencing God in the Midst of Motherhood
by Joyce Schneider“Grass Stains and Giggles by Joyce Schneider invites you to look again in the daily grind of life. Through heartwarming and colloquial tales about her life adventures of parenting, Joyce offers a glimpse of how to live out your faith in real time, every single day. Allow God to nourish your spirit and bring hope through the journey not in spite of, but in the midst of the frenzy of day-to-day affairs. Grass Stains and Giggles reminds us that God is ever present in caring for His children if we are willing to listen, even when we don’t expect Him to speak. “Click Here For Order Information!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nan
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 21:11:45

    wow this is an awesome blog. i feel like it is something I could have written. you said it so well. i love the analogy. can you tell me how I can be able to blog on this place, i don’t understand how this all works. i don’t have a website. thanks

    Reply

  2. nan
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 21:14:07

    i have been reading several different people’s blogs and want to comment and start my own blog but I don’t know how. i use to have yahoo360 and a multiply blog but I want one where I can be free to express my journey, the ups, the downs, and those places are getting to be nothing but fluff, and empty positive thoughts… I want and need genuine christian friends not mixed with new age… can you help me?

    Reply

  3. innerfulfillment
    Feb 13, 2008 @ 03:49:43

    Hi Nan,
    If you contact Dionna Sanchez, in the link above, upper left hand sid, she can help you get started with joining this blog group.

    Thank you for your kind words.

    Warm regards,
    Joyce

    Reply

Leave a Reply

