Slow To Anger

My dear brothers, take not of this:  Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry,  for mans’s anger does not bring about the righteous life that God desires.
James 1:19,20
The subject of anger has been coming up a lot lately.  We talked about it recently in a study I was attending.  How angry King Xerxes got when Queen Vashti refused his command appearance at one of his royal banquets.  She was never allowed to enter into his presence again.  She lost her position as his wife and his queen.   Tonight I read to the boys the story of Cain and Able and what happened when Cain got angry at his brother Able, because God liked Able’s sacrifice better.  Cain ended up killing Able, he was so upset with him. 
Last night, when I was trying to get the boys to bed, they pushed every last one of my buttons and instead of a quiet peaceful bedtime, I ended up tense and angry with them.  I apologized to them after Bobby came in and reprimanded everyone, but it still threw the tone of the evening off.  I went to bed, tired and discouraged that I’d fussed at the boys.  I know better …
Tonight I made sure that my head and my heart were in the right place before we started the bedtime routine.  I didn’t want a repeat of last night and the boys must have felt the same way, because all was peaceful and calm as it should be.

I want to live the righteous life that God desires for me … I want this lesson to sink into my soul and my spirit and when angry words start to rise up, I want to bite them off, before they are released. 
Father, forgive me when I allow my emotions to interfere in a negative way with my actions.  Father help me to learn this lesson deep inside my heart, so that all my actions will bring glory to You.

I love you Jesus.
     In Your name I pray,
    Amen
God Bless You!

Love,
Joyce



LIFE IS... Not About Perfect
LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider
For More Of My Story:
For nothing is impossible with God.
    Luke 1:37

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hljourney
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 15:51:51

    Joyce, thanks for your honesty and sharing how easy it is to fall into anger quickly. I shared on blog just last night: “Gen 26:7-11
    Here Isaac chooses to lie as his father did (not telling the whole truth – Gen 12:10-14; 20:1-4) regarding his wife… we as parents need to gaurd our children by our own actions. My Bible notes share: Parents help shape the world’s future by the way they shape their children’s values. The first step toward heloping children live rightly is for the parents to live rightly. Your actions are often copied by those closest to you. What kind of example are you setting for your children?”

    We do need to make sure that we go to God before/during confrontations, so that we can ask for His strength and wisdom to help us through each situation.

    God Bless, Heather

    Reply

Leave a Reply

