We Almost Lost Zeke

There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:  a time to be born and a time to die.
Ecclesiastes 3:1,2a
Yesterday afternoon Zeke was fussing at me.  He wanted something; food,drink or play.  Those are his three needs in life.  Play is usually first.  That dog will play fetch till he literally falls over.  And he’s a bit overweight, so I have to be careful not to play with him too long, I’m afraid he’ll have a heart attack.
But we’d played fetch quite a bit already, so I figured it was food or drink, and I was right.  Both were empty.  I filled them up and went back into the house.  I was talking to Carson and Chase about something and I looked up and Zeke was staggering into the kitchen.  His legs were wobbly and then he sank down on the floor.
He had this look of desparation and pain in his eyes and he seemed to be gasping and his paws were rigid … it was the most horrible sight.  Carson and I looked at him and then we went running to find Bobby.  I am just not good in medical emergencies, I’m so thankful Bobby was home.  
I’m not really sure what was wrong with Zeke, Bobby wasn’t sure either.  He was either choking on his dog food or else a small bolt that he had eaten earlier was not doing well in his stomach –  don’t ask.  But he was definitely having a problem.  And for about 10 minutes, he seemed like he was dying.  And than, he opened his mouth, gasped for breath and started wagging his tail.  And Zeke was Zeke again.  It was the strangest thing.  One minute Zeke was fine, the next he was in serious trouble.
We were talking about it tonight and Bobby said, “It wasn’t Zeke’s time yet.”  And that was true.  There have been several times in his short life that it wasn’t his time yet.  I’ve never met a dog who came so close to death so many times, but didn’t.
Last February, Bobby’s brother, David, was killed in a motorcycle accident.  One minute David was fine, enjoying life, the next he was in serious trouble and then gone.  I know several people who have lost children in accidents; one day they are enjoying life, the next day they are gone. 
All day yesterday I kept going over and petting Zeke and telling him how thankful I was that he was still with us.  Chase and Carson have been on top of him all day today, loving on him.  I even saw Bobby petting him today and he usually ignores him. 
We almost lost Zeke, and we are so much more appreciative of him today, because of it. 

I would like to encourage you …

  • If there is someone in your life that you need to forgive – forgive them today.
  • If there is someone in your life that you need to call – call them today.
  • If there is somone in your life that you need to say, “I’m so sorry.” – say it today.
Don’t wait until tomorrow … it may not come.
Father, I know that death is not a topic that we are comfortable with.  It is so painful to lose the people that we love.  I pray for your peace to comfort those who have experienced this pain.  Wrap your arms around them Lord and let your love heal their hearts.  Give us the courage Father to make peace with the people in our lives that we need to reconcile with, so that we live our lives with no regrets.  And Father, thank you for saving Zeke, once again.
I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
     Amenn
God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce


LIFE IS... Not About Perfect
LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider
For More Of My Story:
For nothing is impossible with God.
    Luke 1:37

Leave a Reply

