Laying Down My Isaac

“Do not lay a hand on the boy,” he said. “Do not do anything to him. Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son.”

Genesis 22:12

The other day I was talking to a friend of mine and he said, “Oh, I can see a story here,”  and he was right.  I was telling him about the most incredible peace that has enveloped me, when I stepped out, in obedience, and did a most difficult task.  It reminded me of the story of Abraham, who waited so many years for a son, in fact, he was 100 years old, when his son, Isaasc, was born.   And then, God asked him to take Isaac up on the mountain and sacrifice him. 

What was up with that??

But Abraham didn’t hesitate or question God, he simply obeyed him, in faith.  God had promised Abraham that he would be the father of many nations.  He trusted God’s promise.

And when he was just about to slay Isaac, God stopped him, and provided a ram for the sacrifice.  And Isaac married and had two sons and the legacy began.

For years, since the beginning of our relationship, I have been taking care of the finances.  It’s not necessarily a job I wanted, but one that fell on me.  And I did the best I could with it.  But through the years of one income and life circumstances, there always seemed to be more month than money. 

And the burden of carrying that load became too heavy for me to bear.  But I didn’t want to tell Bobby just how bad things had gotten.  I was afraid that he would make us sell our home and move somewhere less expensive to live, (something he has talked about on occasion), or make me quit my part time job and get a full time job and than I wouldn’t be free to go share my story, or maybe he’d make me stop writing books? 

I had a whole list of fears … of what if’s?

But God wanted me to let go of the finances, to trust Him.  And to do that, He asked me to hand them over to Bobby.  All of it.  Now, that was the last thing I wanted to do, but I wanted to obey God.  And I had to get that burden off my back, it was weighing me down to the point that I could not sleep and it was constantly on my mind.

And so I did … I gave it all up, I gave everything over to him, believing that regardless of what happened, God was in control.  I was willing to give up my life, as I knew and loved it, if that was what it would take.

But God does have a plan, and it’s not to harm me, it’s to prosper me and give me hope.  Bobby took over the finances and within 6 weeks time, he has completely changed the negatives to a positive.  We still have a ways to go, but there is now more money than month and we have a plan and a goal, and it is moving forward nicely.  And the peace that has filled my mind and my soul is beyond compare.

And no, I didn’t have to sell my peaceful home that I love so much, nor quit my job, nor stop sharing my story.  I still have my life as I know and love it … only now it’s even better!

So, I guess my question to you today is, do you have an Isaac that God is asking you to lay down?   What’s stopping you?

Father, thank you for this most incredible lesson on trusting you.  My hearts desire is to worship you and you made it very clear to me that the truest form of worship is obedience.  Thank you for giving me the grace to walk through this lesson, your way, and for the most incredible blanket of peace that you’ve wrapped around me.

 

I Love You Jesus. 

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce

 

Submitted by:

   Joyce Schneider

   A Life Decision

   http://www.alifedecision.org

Leave a Reply

