And When Might This Happen?

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest
 if we do not give up.
Galatians 6:9
We’ve had a bit of a cold spell here the last few days and it was pretty cold when we woke up this morning.  Chase does not like the cold.  He takes after his mama.  He wears jeans and sweatshirts just about year round.  He likes being cozy.  Carson, on the other hand, is just like Bobby.  He wears shorts 365 days a year and I have to fight with him to put a jacket on.  It’s interesting the way they each take after one of us, in that respect.
Anyway, Chase did not want to get out of bed this morning, until I brought him a couple of shirts to put on and his jeans.  And when we walked out to the car, we both admitted that it was cold out.  I told him that I’d heard on the news that this cold front would be breaking and it would be warming up.  And his reply to me was so cute, without missing a beat he said, “And when might this happen?”
My little man was getting impatient with the cold.
I laughed and told him … soon.  It would warm up soon and we’d be back to our beautiful winter weather of 80 degrees and sunshine.  (If you live up north, I am sorry, but your winters are a little colder.)
As I was driving home from dropping them off, I started thinking about how I get impatient with God sometimes.  When things aren’t going the way I want them to, or changes aren’t happening fast enough, I start thinking, ‘When God??’  I believe His promises and I know He is always faithful, but maybe, just maybe, could He hurry it up a little bit?
I’m wondering if Joseph had those thoughts.  He’d had dreams as a young child of greatness, but yet he ended up getting thrown down a well, sold as a slave, falsely accused and imprisoned, for years!  Real life wasn’t playing out that vision. 
Abraham was promised that he would be the father of many nations, yet he didn’t have that promised son until he was 100 years old.  Do you think he ever thought, “Hey God, did you forget about me?”
There are countless stories of God’s faithfulness time and time again throughout the Bible.  Stories where faith triumphed … even when the blessings came later.  Sometimes the blessings were not even revealed during a life time, but years later. 
But just like the sun came out today and the temperature eventually rose to close to 80 degrees … God always fulfills His promises to us. 
So hang in there my friend … the Son will shine!
Father thank You for the warmth that can only come from You.  The warmth that fills our souls and radiates out of us … to draw others to You.  Father, thank You that Your Word is true and Your promises are never ending.  And Jesus, thank You for Your Son and His warmth.
I Love You Jesus. 

      In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen

God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce


The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
If you enjoy these daily devotions, you will enjoy my new book:
LIFE IS... Not About Perfect LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider“In her third work, Life Is Not About Perfect; Joyce Schneider gives us a glimpse into how to enjoy living amidst the trials and tribulations of everyday life. This unique devotional proclaims a message of hope and encouragement through family antics, inspiring us to see life situations for what they truly are—opportunities to live out our faith.”

      

Leave a Reply

