I Know Where You Sleep

In your anger, do not sin.  Do not let the sun go while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.

Ephesians 4:26,27

Tonight the boys were having some sort of altercation and Carson’s response to Chase, as he walked out of the room, was, “I know where you sleep.”

Bobby and I laughed, it was really a cute statement and we teased Chase about Carson visiting him while he was asleep and giving him a payback.

But by the time bedtime rolled around, Carson had forgotten all about getting back at his brother, actually they were sitting at the kitchen table while I was working, their heads touching, enthralled in a book that Carson had brought home.  It had monster machines in it and they were amazed at the size of some of those contraptions. 

They showered, brushed their teeth, said their prayers and both of them promptly fell asleep. 

I was thinking about how quickly Carson was to forgive and forget.  No hard feelings.  No grudges.  No revenge. 

How many times in my past had I gotten angry or upset at someone and instead of just letting it go, I’d stew over it.  I’d go to bed thinking about it and I’d wake up thinking about it and it would eat away at the insides of me.   But even worse, when I let my anger take control, it allows the enemy the opportunity to snake into my heart and disrupt my peace.  It gives him a foothold in my spirit.

Webster defines foothold as:  A secure position, esp. a firm basis for further progress or development.

 

I do not want the enemy to have a firm basis for further progress or development in my life. 

I want to model Carson’s behavior … forgive and forget.  No hard feelings.  No grudges.  No revenge.  No footholds.

Father, thank you for this lesson in forgiveness, in letting go, in not staying upset.  No, life is not perfect and people will always disappoint or hurt, but Lord, I don’t want the enemy to have any opportunity to gain entrance.  Help me to be let offenses run off of me like water runs off the back of a duck.  No footholds here … No footholds here.

 

I Love You Jesus. 

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce



LIFE IS... Not About Perfect LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider

For More Of My Story:

 http://www.alifedecision.org

For nothing is impossible with God.
    Luke 1:37

Leave a Reply

