What God Means To Me

What does Psalm 23 mean to you? That the Lord is your Shepherd?  That He makes you to lie down in green pastures?

For me, it means that the Lord is my Protector, my Comforter, my Leader.  That’s what a shepherd does.  He protects.  He comforts.  He leads.

When a wolf comes after me, He goes after it.  He chases the wolf away.

He makes me to lie down in green pastures.  He wants what is best for me.  He doesn’t let me rest in dead, brown, withered, old pastures.  No, He provides me with His best.

He leads me beside still waters because in Him, I am at peace.  He doesn’t want me to worry, to fret, to be afraid, because He is there to protect me.

He restores my soul.  I don’t have to deal with my mind, will and emotions on my own.  He restores them.   All I have to do is cooperate.

He leads me.  He directs me.  He orders my steps.  He knows where I am going and how to get me there safely.  Even when I am in my darkest hours, He is with me.  He comforts me.  With Him, I have nothing to fear.

In the presence of my enemies, He prepares a table for me.  He anoints my head with oil.  My cup runs over.  He blesses me in the midst of my enemies.  He anoints me and blesses me not because I deserve it but because I am His child and He loves me.

He loves me so much that He makes sure that goodness and mercy are hunting me down and pursuing me all the days of my life.  He made the way for me to dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

My God is so good to me.  He loves me, protects me and watches over me.  He makes sure that I am taken care of.  That is how sweet my God is!

Now what does Psalm 23 mean to you?

– Annagail Lynes

Leave a Reply

