I Appreciate You

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8
Last night, around dinnertime, the boys were getting a little too wound up.  A week off from school is starting to take its toll.  Kids need structure and school helps to provide those life boundaries.  Bobby and I have tried to keep some semblance of order around here over the holidays, but I could see that last night they were a bit too tight.  I think it was the idea that they were going to get to stay up till midnight. 
So while we were having dinner, I suggested we try something new.  We would go around the table and tell each other what we appreciated the most about the other person.  It  was really a sweet time.  We each heard positive statements about ourselves and immediately the atmosphere in our home changed.

I was sitting there thinking, Bobby really does love me.  He appreciates ME.  And I never realized that Carson loves me cooking dinner for him.  And Chase loves me scratching him; I did know that one.  Chase is very obvious about what he likes and wants. 
But I know that the boys were thinking positive thoughts about each other and Bobby heard why we appreciate him and everyone seemed a little more settled after that exercise.
I talked before about how God’s first gift to us was His love.  That He loved us even while we were still sinners.  I was listening to a sermon yesterday and the pastor was making this point as well.  That his life started to drastically change when he realized how much God loves him.  That once that realization settled in, everything changed.
It was the same way with me.  Once I received God’s love for me, nothing was the same.  God loved me!  He appreciated me and I didn’t even have to cook Him dinner or scratch His back.  He loved me FIRST!
It’s important to know that we are loved and appreciated; by God and by our families.  I want to encourage you, we are at the beginning of a new year.  So many opportunities seem to await us at this time of year.  A fresh start.  A new look at the world and where you fit into it.
If you don’t know God’s love, take some time to explore the concept.  A good place to start is the book of John, from The Bible.  If you don’t have a bible, you can find it online at: http://www.biblegateway.com
If you haven’t taken the time to tell your friends and family how much you love and appreciate them, today would be a good day to begin.  Let them know how much you care about them.  It’s never too late to say, “I love you!  I appreciate you!”  It will make you both feel good inside; you for saying it and them for hearing it.
And I want to say to each of you that I love and  appreciate YOU!  I appreciate that you take time out of your busy day to read these stories.  I pray that God’s blessing of peace will flow through you and that you will experience His love in a whole new realm throughout this new year and the years to come!

Father, thank you for new beginnings.  Thank you that we can come to you today, and begin a fresh start, a new life through you!  Lord, thank you for loving us, first!  This is not a new concept, it’s older than times, yet when we fully grasp it, it changes us and brings us into that special connection with you.  And Lord Jesus, thank you for the very special family that you have given to me.  Even when they are wound for sound, I so appreciate and love them.
I love You Jesus.
 In Your Name Pray,
     Amen
God Bless You!
Love,
Joyce


LIFE IS... Not About Perfect
LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider
For More Of My Story:
For nothing is impossible with God.
    Luke 1:37

Leave a Reply

