Are You Sure You Want To Try Those Again?

Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it.

Then you will be prosperous and successful.

Joshua 1:8

I love yeast rolls with holiday meals.  My mom always had them for Thanksgiving and Christmas and for me, it was my favorite part of the meal.  Now, actually, she would make them with the little package of yeast and flour.  I tried that a couple of times, a long time ago and it didn’t work out so well, so I switched to Brown & Serve rolls.  They always came out okay, but they never tasted as good.  Then, a few years ago, I found frozen packages of yeast rolls, so I thought I’d give them a try.

 

I tried all different varieties, but for what ever reason, I could never get them to come out right.  I would forget to thaw them out the night before, try to do the quick thaw method and they would be hard as rocks.  Another time I let them rise too long and then they fell and they were like little flat pancakes.

 

It became a joke in the kitchen at holidays, me and my yeast roll efforts.  Add in the fact that Bobby went to culinary school and was an Executive Chef for many years, before getting into construction, and makes the perfect holiday meal seem effortless, and you can see my dilemna.

 

So when I came home from the store the other night, with my Christmas meal purchases, and Bobby saw that package of frozen yeast rolls, well, his comment to me was, “Are you sure you want to try those again?”

 

And I said, “Yes, I am not going to give up.”

 

And this time, I read the directions twice, and I followed them to the T, and for Thanksgiving dinner we enjoyed flaky, perfectly browned, wonderful tasting yeast rolls!  I was so proud of my contribution to the meal. 

 

After dinner, when I was cleaning up the kitchen with a friend, we were commenting on my rolls and I said I would use them in a story.  And she thought it quite humorous that I could find a spiritual concept from making dinner rolls.  She said to be sure and call them rolls and not buns … someone might get the wrong idea, and we don’t want that!

 

So here goes, for so many years my life was a mess. I would try to do the right thing, but it never turned out the way I wanted it to.   Because, just like with those rolls, I was not following the directions.

 

God gave us an instruction book for life, His Word.  Everything I needed to know to have a good life was in there, but I wasn’t reading it, nor following it’s guidelines.  And I kept messing up.  Even after I came to know the Lord, my life wasn’t changed magically, zapped into a utopian like existence.  Things still went wrong.

 

But I didn’t give up!  I kept reading and learning and eventually, I started to get it.  And as a result, God’s peace is now flowing through me and the ups and downs of life are mellowing out a bit.  Now, please don’t think my life is perfect, it’s FAR from it.  But with God’s peace, the intensity of life tones down immensely and when I follow His Way, the path is much smoother.

 

I’d like to encourage you today, if life isn’t quite working out for you the way you want it to, maybe spending some time reading through the Instruction Book will give you some different results.

 

And as Sir Winston Churchhill once said, “Never give in–never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy.”

Father, thank you for giving us Your guide to Life, a good life here on this earth and eternal life with you in Heaven.  Lord, even when the answer is right before me, I have continually messed up.  Help me Lord to not do things the way I want, but to consistently go to your Word for instruction and guidance.

I Love You Jesus. 

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce

Submitted by:

  Joyce Schneider

   A Life Decision

  http://www.alifedecision.org

 

Leave a Reply

