Who Are You Impressing?

Your opinion of me is nice, but it isn’t necessary.

For many years, I had been obsessed with what people thought of me.

Growing up, I used to exaggerate the events of my life to make myself sound more exciting. The problem is that eventually people find out what kind of person you really are.

Now, I am to the point in my life that I am too old to worry about what anyone thinks of me or the way I live my life.

The only opinion I care about is my Heavenly Father’s. Everyone else’s opinions are not relevant.

In school, if a certain group liked something or someone, I conformed my thoughts, my beliefs, to their way of thinking.

There’s only one Person I will conform my thoughts and beliefs to now. Can you guess who? Yes, my Lord.

People can conformed to what is “Politically Correct.” People can conformed to latest fad in Christianity. People can conformed to the beliefs of the political leaders. That is their choice, and I respect that.

However, it is not my choice. I will only conform to the thoughts, feelings and purposes of my God. In the end, it is God I will stand before on Judgment Day not the media, not the political leaders, not even the celebrity of the week.

In light of that, to me, the opinions of everyone one else seem trivial.

Let me leave you will this thought: Who are you trying to impress? God or people?

– Annagail Lynes

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Patrice Fagnant-MacArthur
    Dec 27, 2007 @ 22:31:57

    This is so true and something I often need to remind myself of. Thank you for writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

