Pretty Packages

Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

Matthew 5:8

I walked into a doctor’s office the other day and came across a Christmas tree with beautifully wrapped packages underneath.  And no, I’m not ill, it’s part of my daily courier route.  I asked the girl at the desk,  who the presents were for?,  and she shared her secret with me, the boxes were empty.  They looked pretty but they contained nothing. 

As I walked down the hallway, I noticed that all the pictures in the office had been wrapped as well.  They looked like new gifts, but they were actually just covering up something old.

Carson’s birthday was a couple of weeks ago and when we went to wrap his gift, an electric scooter, we didn’t have any birthday wrap so I suggested we use Christmas paper.  Bobby looked at me like I had two heads, but I assured him that Carson wouldn’t care what the present was wrapped in, it was what was inside that counts.  And I knew he would  be tickled pink over this scooter.  He’d been wanting one for a long time.

When I share my story, I talk about how, before I found Jesus, on the outside I looked like I was part of the perfect little Christian family; going to church every Sunday, but I did not have a personal relationship with Jesus.  I might have looked good on the outside, but there was nothing of substance on the inside.

Have you ever met someone and made a decision or a judgement about them by their appearance, but than after you really got to know them, you’ve found that they are the total opposite of what you thought at first?

Again and again, The Word instructs us to guard our hearts, that God see our hearts, that our hearts are the wellspring of our lives …

I want to encourage you today – it’s nice to look pretty on the outside, but it’s so much more rewarding to be filled with substance.

Father, it’s so easy to get caught up in appearances … help me Lord to keep my heart pure. 

 

Thank you for loving me Jesus!

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce

 

Submitted by:

   Joyce Schneider



LIFE IS... Not About Perfect LIFE IS… Not About Perfect
A Daily Dose of Encouragement
by Joyce Schneider

For More Of My Story:

 http://www.alifedecision.org

For nothing is impossible with God.
    Luke 1:37

Leave a Reply

