Teach Me To Pray Mommy

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 

 I will be found by you,” declares the LORD.

Jeremiah 29:12-14

 

The other night, I was lying in bed with Chase, chatting a bit and finishing up our day and I asked him if he wanted to pray.  He said no, he wanted me to pray.  I asked him why?  His response, “If you teach me to pray Mommy, I’ll know how to pray with my kids.”

Oh my … what a sweet response.  And what a nice picture, my little Chase as a grown man, kneeling down at his children’s bed, praying with them before they go to sleep.

And I explained that there really wasn’t a right way to pray. That when he prayed, that he was simply talking to Jesus, about his day, his life, really anything that he wanted to share with Him.   And then I prayed.  

I remember the very first time I prayed out loud in a group.  I was just petrified.  I was a brand new baby Christian and I had started attending a MOPS study and at the end of the study, everyone stood, held hands and went around the room saying a short prayer.  I was close to panic by the time it was my turn.  All these other women seemed so confident and sure in their prayers and I had just come to know the Lord.  I hadn’t a clue how to pray to Him.  But as they went around the room, my silent prayer was, ‘teach me to pray Jesus’.

And when it came my turn, I simply started talking to Him.  Thanking him for my day, my life — I really don’t remember exactly what I said, but I remember I was quite comfortable and before I knew it I had said, AMEN, and it was the next person’s turn.  

A while back, I was doing a radio interview and the host asked me to pray on the air.  For a brief minute, I had this intense anxiety, oh my, what would I say, and then I remember just bowing my head and talking to Jesus.  Asking Him to protect a missionary who was living in Iraq and thanking Him that we had the freedom here in the US to worship Him openly, without fear of persecution.

One of my friends, actually was driving down the road, flipped on her radio and about ran off the road, cause there I was praying over the airways.  We got a cute chuckle out of that later …

The first time we meet people, our conversations can be a little stilted.  But as we get to know them, we open up and our conversations become more animated and more intimate.  And we may correspond one way in a group atmosphere and another, one on one.  

The same is true of our relationship with the Lord.  As we grow closer in our walk with Him, the way we communicate changes. But alone or in a group, there is no right or wrong way to pray, Jesus just wants us to share our lives with Him.

Father, thank You for showing me that it’s all about relationship, not rituals nor rules — not recited rites.  Lord Jesus, thank You that You always hear my prayers and that when I seek You, I find You!  And thank You Lord that Carson and Chase don’t want to go to sleep at night without saying goodnight to You.

 

I Love You Jesus.

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce

Submitted by:

   Joyce Schneider

   A Life Decision

   http://www.alifedecision.org

 

Leave a Reply

