Staying Warm

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.

Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—

and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

Hebrews 10:24,25

It was a bit chilly this morning when we went out to the bus stop.  Chase was dressed in jeans and a t-shirt and as we stood on the street, waiting for the bus to arrive, he was complaining of being cold.  He’s just like me, he likes to be snuggly and warm.  I hugged him close to me, actually tucked him up under one of my sweatshirts, I had on two, I knew one wouldn’t be enough for me.  As we stood there, with him snuggled up next to me, he said he was nice and toasty. I was actually comfortable before I snuggled up with Chase, but as I snuggled with him, I got even warmer.  He snuggled with me until the bus came, then headed off to school.

Chase had needed the closeness of my body to help keep him warm this morning.  He was cold on his own, but standing next to me, he was able to gain the warmth he needed.  And although I wasn’t cold, when he was snuggled up beside me, I was even toastier. 

When I’m feeling ‘cold’ in my spirit, it’s important for me to be around other Believers, to ignite that spark, get that flame going again.  And on the flip side, even when I’m sailing along, pretty comfortable in my walk, when I get around other like-minded folks, it sparks my spirit even more and keeps the flame burning stronger, that iron sharpening iron concept.  And I can help keep their spirits on fire as well.

A lone coal, regardless of how hot it is at any point, will eventually burn itself out if it’s left sitting on the hearth alone.  We need the encouragement and support of each other to keep our fires burning.  That is why God tells us to not forsake the gathering of the body. 

We need each other to stay warm!


Father, thank you for the wonderful support group that you have brought into my life.  That I don’t have to sit on the hearth alone Lord.  That you are always bringing people into my life to encourage me and who I in turn can encourage as well. 

 

I Love You Jesus.

      In Your Name I Pray!
     Amen

God Bless You!
Joyce

 

Leave a Reply

