The Gift Of Grace

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Webster says that grace is:  mercy, clemency, pardon; a manifestation of favor, especially by a superior.  I experienced a manifestation of favor by a superior first hand, this morning.  And that superior was sitting behind me in a red and white flashing car.

My day started out a little different today.  Carson had a fever and couldn’t go to school, so I had to figure out what to do with him while I was working.  I could have asked for the day off, but it was short notice and I really didn’t want to bother my boss, with my problem.  So I asked Bobby if Carson could hang out in his office while I was working.  And he said sure and Carson was agreeable so that situation was resolved.

But as I headed off to town, I was talking on my cell phone and listening to the radio, and thinking about getting Carson over to his daddy.  I was distracted, and not watching my speedomenter and then I saw a police officer make a quick U-Turn with his lights on and when I pulled over to the right, he was still behind me with his lights on.  Uh Oh, were my thoughts, he is after me I must have been speeding.

And I had been.  61 in a 45 zone.  OUCH!  Now, why Golden Gate Blvd. is a 45 mph zone could be debated, but I am doing a study in authority and since all authority is God ordained, I decided to accept my punishment graciously, without debate. 

So I quietly handed him my license and registration and sat there berating myself for not paying attention to my speed.  And then I decided that I should pray, that was a better use of my time then beating myself up.   And I told God that yes, I was speeding and yes, I did deserve a ticket, but that I would be so thankful if today that could be avoided. 

And five minutes later that officer walked back to my car, handed me a warning and asked me to please slow down.  And I said, “Thank you so much.  I will.”  And I meant it.  All day long I was was grateful for that man extending grace to me.  I was guilty of the offense, I deserved a ticket, but he had the authority to not write me one.  And he didn’t.

Webster’s also says that grace is:  the freely given, unmerited favor and love of God.  Seven years ago I realized that I needed Jesus.  I was not worthy of Him.  I was a sinner, I did not deserve His love, nor his favor.  Yet, when I asked Him into my life,  He did not give me what I deserved, He gave me His love, His kindness, His mercyHe gave me His gift of grace!

Father, thank You for your gift of amazing grace.  As the song says, I once was lost but now am found, was blind but now I see.  Thank You for loving me first, for never letting go of me when I would not even acknowledge You and Father, thank you for continuing to walk me through this amazing journey of faith.  Lord, even when I continue to stumble and fall, You patiently pick me back up, dust me off and set me back on Your path.

I Love You Jesus.  I truly do!

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Joyce

 

Submitted by:

   Joyce Schneider

   http://www.alifedecision.org

 

Leave a Reply

