A Light In The Darkness

You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden.  Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.  In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.

Matthew 5:14-16

 

This morning I was awaken earlier than usual.  I think it was before 6:00 am, I’m not really sure if I looked at the clock or not, but it was still very dark outside.  I woke up because a light was on in the kitchen and it was causing light to spread into my bedroom.  Bobby had left the light on when he went to work.

 

It’s funny.  No other time of the day would I ever notice that light on in the kitchen from my bedroom, except in the black of night.  Any other time, the light would just blend in with all the other light around it.

 

But when everything else was black, boy, the light that came from the kitchen really lit up the house!

 

I started thinking about how important it is for us to be the light of Jesus in a dark and dying world.  I pray that for the boys’ every night before they go to sleep; that they will be Jesus’s light in their school.  And before I go to work, that I will be Jesus’s light to the people I encounter during my day.

 

It’s fun to hang out with my friends from church and I like nothing better than being in a room full of people who love Jesus, but honestly, they don’t need the light, they already have it. 

 

The darkness is where the light is needed …  ummmm … makes you think a bit doesn’t it? 

 

Father, it is so much easier to hang out in the light, but give me the courage and the strength to step out into the darkness Lord, so that Your light shines forth!

I Love You Jesus.

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

 

God Bless You!
Joyce

 

Submitted by:

   Joyce Schneider

   http://www.alifedecsion.org

Leave a Reply

