In God’s Hands

 

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message

is heard through the word of Christ.

Romans 10:17

I think trusting God during really hard situations is such a true test of faith.  I was telling a friend today, it’s where the rubber meets the road.  It’s so easy to say I trust you when life is going all honky dory, but boy, when things start getting hairy, sometimes the story changes and then we begin to blame God or even worse, reject Him.

The Bible tells us that:  Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.  (Hebrews 11:1)

It’s sometimes extremely difficult for me to be sure of my hopes and dreams when, what I am seeing is in complete opposition.  But that is where true faith comes in.  Not the Sunday morning variety, but the down on my knees, tears streaming down my face crying, Why God?, but knowing deep down inside that He is in control and that it will be okay. 

Maybe not today, but saying, I’m trusting You Lord, I’m believing Your Word and I’m going to walk through this with You, even though You may have to carry me for a time, cause I’m hurting really badly right now. 

I was reminded of a time,  where I was really struggling through an issue.  I was a brand new Believer and there were some stuff going on at our church.  It was a really difficult period, I didn’t understand what was happening, and I was struggling so inside, trying to get a grip on it all.  One night I went to bed, and I was extremly upset; sort of in the mode that I described above; on my face, dying inside, just wanting to let Jesus carry me through this pain. 

I hadn’t really experienced any situations up to this point, where I was facing conflict, so this trust during challenge was all new to me. 

I fell asleep that night, picturing myself curled up in His lap, with His hands holding my face.  It was such a comforting picture and I fell asleep in peace.  As I woke up the next morning, before I opened my eyes, I had the sensation, that my face was being held.  That was odd, I thought.  Bobby had left for work a while earlier, the boys were in bed asleep. 

I cracked my eyes open, almost fearful to see who was touching me, and there stood my little Chase, with his hands cupping my face.  He was about 2 1/2 at the time, just a tiny little thing, who couldn’t even get up on the bed on his own, but there he was, face to face with me, while I was sleeping, holding my face in his little hands.

Chase had never done that before, nor has he ever done that since. 

But what an amazing confirmation God gave to me that morning!  I could trust Him.  I was in His hands  — and He used my tiny little baby to articulate that promise.

Father, thank You for your faithfulness.  Thank You that we can stand on Your Word, even when the circumstances around us are screaming out to us that this can not be what you had planned.  Thank You Father that you are trustworthy and good and that even when life throws us lemons, You make lemonade for us. 

I Love You Jesus.

     In Your Name I Pray,

     Amen

God Bless You!

Love,

Joyce

Leave a Reply

