~ Are You Drowning? ~

Are You Drowning?

 

But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.
       They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary,
       they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:31

 

I was sharing this message with a friend at church today and I thought I might share it with you as well.  We were talking about these daily stories and I was explaining to her how they had come to be; this is one of the first ones that God gave me, sort of where it all started. 

 

For the longest time period of my life, I felt like I was drowning.  Like I could just not get my head above water.  I was struggling just to maintain.  And during that time period, even though through some of it I was a Christian, I was not any good to anyone else.  I was not being a witness for Jesus, I was not being an example that anyone would want to follow.  I could not help anyone else, cause I couldn’t help myself.

 

And then I got help … I worked through my issues, and boy, let me tell you, there were a ton.  (still working on them)  But through the process, once I got myself free of a lot of the junk, I was able to turn around and help some others who were going through similar stuff.

 

And one day I was thinking about all of this and God gave me this picture.  I was in a swimming pool and I was drowning and I’d keep bobbing up to the surface, just long enough to take a gasp of air and then I’d be back under again.  And during this time, I had no clue what was going on around me.  I was struggling for dear life. 

 

And then someone threw me a lifesaver and I grabbed ahold and they pulled me to safety.  And I laid there for quite a while catching my breath and gaining my strength back.  But then, as I sat up and looked around the pool, I could now see others who were drowning, who were struggling to survive.  And it’s my duty and desire to attempt to save them.  And through this lesson I learned that:

1.  We can only save ourselves by reaching out, by taking that required action.

2.  We can only save someone else if they reach out to us and accept our assistance.

3.  We have to be careful that we don’t let the drowning people drag us back under.

 

And that my friend, is how the lessons started. 

 

So my question to you today is, are you drowning?   Or are you reaching out to rescue someone else??

 

Father, thank You for giving me lessons that are so simple to understand.  You created the universe, and everything in it.  You are so powerful and mighty that truthfully, I cannot even grasp the majesty of You, and yet You continue to amaze me with the simplicity of your message to me.  You truly do meet us right where we are at Lord.  Father, for those that are drowning, I ask You to give them the courage to reach out for help and for those that are helping, I ask You to give them the strength to carry on.

 

I love You Jesus.

In Your name pray,

Amen

 

God Bless You!

Joyce

Leave a Reply

