The desires of the flesh

The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life. ~ John 6:63

All of my children suck on their fingers. Abigael is a thumbsucker. Quinn sucks the knuckle of his pointer finger on his right hand. Seamus sucks his middle and ring finger on his right hand. Declan is working very hard at figuring the finger sucking out.

I was not a thumb/finger sucker, except for a brief period in my “early days”. My husband, on the other hand, was – for a long time. I am certain that there is an orthodontist out there who is going to become a close family friend.

Their need to suck is especially strong when they are tired and falling asleep.

One night I went in to lay with Abigael for a bit. She had come into our room and wanted a glass of water. I couldn’t resist snuggling into the bed with her. Our time together is so brief now that she is at school… As I snuggled next to her I listened to her attempting to suck her thumb as she fell back to sleep.

It’s wasn’t as easy as it usually is. She had a cold; her nose was stopped up, so she couldn’t breathe and suck her thumb at the same time. I listened to her attempt this several times. Even once she was asleep, some part of her brain couldn’t decide what was more important: breathing or sucking that thumb.

Since I couldn’t fall back to sleep, my mind started thinking about her quandary. My thoughts somehow came around to a spiritual issue. It was one of those moments where God wanted to speak to me, so He made my daughter thirsty so that she’d wake me up.

Why do we put ourselves through so much unnecessary struggle? There is that internal struggle to do what we know we need to do versus the things that our flesh wants to do. That pull is so strong… Our original parents, Adam and Eve, had everything they could want, but their flesh had them wondering what they were missing out on.

Our flesh can get us into some big pickles.

But, they aren’t always big and obvious. It can be “do I go for a walk or make myself a milkshake?”, “do I sit down and play with the kids or clean the kitchen?” Neither option is bad. But if we play that game long enough it keeps us from what we should be doing.

The desires of our flesh are so strong. That’s why it is so important that we keep our eyes on Jesus and seek His will for us. Left to our own devices, our fleshly desires would surely win every time.

2007 copyright
Karla Porter
http://karlascrazylife.blogspot.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dionna
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 22:21:02

    Nice thoughts, Karla!🙂

    Reply

  2. Dennis K
    Apr 18, 2009 @ 06:34:36

    You encourage me to take the better option _ Jesus when I feel weak and almost yielding to the flesh

    Reply

Leave a Reply

