Great Expectations

Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us.
Ephesians 3:20
 
I heard a message from Joel Osteen one day about expectations.  That we not only need to believe God but we need to expect great things from Him.  It was a wonderful message and very inspiring. 
 
I woke up my first morning in Jacksonville, with the words great expectations, floating through my mind.  And I expected God to fulfill those words.  And He did.  My time in Jacksonville was a huge blessing.
 
I drove into Stuart yesterday about dinner time.  I don’t usually make a point to go sit down in a restaurant when I travel.  I usually just grab a bite and move on, but one of my friends had given me some money to sit down to a good meal while I was traveling, and I wanted to honor her gift.  There was a restaurant attached to the hotel, so I thought that would be a good place to eat.
 
As I was unpacking some of my things and I had the distinct impression that I was going to that restaurant for a purpose.  Not to feed my body, but to feed someone’s soul.  That God had someone there for me to meet.
 
As I walked into the restaurant, I decided I’d just sit at the bar.  After being in the restaurant business for 20 years, I know that’s usually the best place for conversation if you are alone.  And I wanted to leave myself open to whomever God brought for me to talk to.
 
Well, it turned out that the bartender was that person.  She was a young girl, just moved to the area about a year ago.  She had come down with her finance’, but that hadn’t worked out and he’d left her high and dry.  She so reminded me of me, 20 years ago.  I didn’t say a lot to her while I was there, but let her share her story with me.  But after I finished my meal, I went out to the truck and got one of my books and brought it back to her.
 
I explained that I saw myself in her and I wanted to share my story with her.  She seemed quite appreciative that I had brought her back a book.  I am praying that God will use it to touch her heart for Himself.
 
It’s so exciting to know that God has a plan and a purpose for our lives … we simply need to open ourselves up and allow Him to work through us and watch His great plan come into fruition!
 
Father, thank You once again for this time to share You with others. You are truly an awesome God!  I pray for the young girl I met last night.  That Your truth will touch her life and bring her peace, from the inside out.
 
I Love You Jesus.
 
     In Your Name I Pray,
     Amen
 
 
God Bless You!
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Christian
    Sep 26, 2007 @ 02:37:09

    Thank you for this wonderful post. God bless.

    Christian J.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

