Enjoying the Drive

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.
John 10:10
I drove up to Jacksonville on Tuesday. I have to confess, I was just a little bit intrepid about making the drive alone.  At the last minute, I was trying to bribe one or both of the boys to come with me.  I had two speaking dates in Jacksonville, and one in Stuart and would be gone until Friday evening.  3 days alone, on the road was not my idea of fun.
 
I know some people thrive on time alone, but I’ve never been one of those people.  I always enjoy being around people.  Oh, I like my occasional weekend alone when the boys go camping, but to actually get in my car and drive all over Florida by myself for 3-4 days, well that is another story.
 
But the boys wanted nothing to do with a boring trip with mom, so off I went, alone.  I decided that I would enjoy myself, spending some quality time with the Lord and just see what / or whom God brought into my path.
 
The drive up was uneventful.  5 1/2 hours of peaceful roadways, which is a miracle in itself.  I found my hotel with no problem and settled in. 
 
Yesterday was a great day of meeting women and sharing Jesus.  I have a friend who lives in the area and I got to visit her home, see her children and enjoy her company for a time.
 
Today it’s more of the same, with a nice drive down the east coast of Florida.  As I told a friend my plans, her response to me was, “Enjoy the drive.” 
 
Just one year ago, I couldn’t even get in my car and drive to Ft. Myers on the Interstate.  Well, maybe I could drive to the airport, but I was a nervous wreck the entire time, white knuckled and relieved when I’d get there or get home.  I had developed a driving phobia and it was horrible to try and drive any distance.
 
But I prayed about it, gave my fears to the Lord and now I drive constantly.  I have a job that takes me all over Naples and Ft. Myers and in the last 8 months I have traveled extensively over Florida speaking to various groups and organizations.  And I’ve driven myself to all these places.
 
Jesus didn’t die on the cross so that we could live half hearted lives.  He doesn’t want us to be immobiled by fear and anxiety.  I am so very thankful that I gave him my driving phobia and in return He has given me a whole new world to explore.  I can hardly wait to get back behind that wheel!
 
 
Father, thank You for giving me back my life, so that I could have new adventures for You.  Thank You for bringing me to Jacksonville and for this special time that I’ve been given with You.  And Lord Jesus, I ask that if anyone is reading this that has their own unique fear, that You would enable them to give it to You, so that You can heal their life and make them whole and fruitful for You!
 
I Love You Jesus.
 
     In Your Name I Pray,
     Amen
 
 
God Bless You!
 
Love,
Joyce
 
Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ace
    Sep 21, 2007 @ 20:55:30

    Thank you, Joyce, for your transparency and for the reminder that “perfect love casts out all fear”. We can’t let fear paralyze us, but we must face our fears in the strength and power of God and press through everything that wants to keep us where we are so that we can’t reach our God ordained destiny. Your writing is a blessing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

