The Lost Pelican

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life,
and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand.
John 10:27,28
 
 
I was driving home today and I saw a pelican flying out by where we live; in the woods, many miles from the ocean.  And it was heading east, not west, towards the water.   I thought to myself, ‘boy that pelican is lost.’  I don’t know how pelicans can get lost, but I do believe that pelican was.
 
Earlier in the day, I had been driving up in Ft. Myers, and  I got turned around and was heading north, when I should have been heading south.  But I had Bobby’s truck, he has a compass, and I realized quite quickly that I was going the wrong way and re-adjusted my course, accordingly.
 
Tonight I was teaching Carson’s cub scout friends, a God and Me class.  The first story we discussed was about a shepherd who had 99 sheep, but one wandered off and got lost, and so he had to go and retrieve the lost one.  He left the 99 to find the one, because He loved them all equally.
 
It is so easy to get turned around in life. We are going along pretty well, but it only takes one wrong turn to get us totally off course.  And if we don’t re-adjust quickly, we can become so turned around that we’ve lost all our bearings and we’re just not sure what direction to head off in.
 
I don’t think pelicans have shepherds, but I believe that one I saw today would have appreciated someone guiding him back to his home.
 
I spent my childhood in church, but for whatever reason, I just never got the concept that Jesus loves ME … regardless.  I thought there were stipulations to His love and I just couldn’t believe that I could ever fulfill them, so I wandered off in the wrong direction and got myself totally turned around and headed down way too many dead end streets.
 
And then one day … my shepherd found me, tired and defeated and pretty beat up inside, and He picked me up and carried me back home … because He loves me.
 
 
Thank you Jesus for bringing me back to You.  And Father, thank You for this class of little boys that I’ve had the priviledge of sharing Your Word with. I pray that seeds are planted for eternal harvest.
 
I Love You Jesus. 
      In Your Name I Pray,
      Amen
 
God Bless You!
Joyce

Submitted by:
Joyce Schneider
A Life Decision
http://www.alifedecision.org

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristine
    Sep 20, 2007 @ 18:07:07

    Beautiful, inspiring, uplifting! Thanks Joyce for sharing your heart with us. I needed this today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

