Hanging On For Dear Life

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.  When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
Isaiah 43:2-3
 
We were driving home from Orlando tonight and Carson was sharing his experiences on his favorite ride of the week, Mt. Everest which was in Animal Kingdom.  I didn’t ride it, I opted out of roller coasters this trip, I spend too much time at the chiropractors to risk injury for a 5 minute thrill.  Again, I think there is a story in that statement, maybe I am actually getting wiser in my old age.  Maybe…
 
Anyway, Carson and Bobby rode Mt. Everest and Carson has not stopped talking about it since.  He loved it.  But tonight, as he was sharing his adventure, he admitted that he had his eyes closed for most of the ride and at the end, when he saw the picture that was taken on one especially thrilling part of the ride, he was actually cowered in the corner, hanging on for dear life.
 
We laughed and joked about it and Bobby encouraged him that maybe next time, he’d be able to keep his eyes open. 
 
His statement about hanging on for dear life really hit home with me.  I can so relate to Carson’s experience.  I didn’t see the picture, or Carson during the ride, but I can just image my little boy being whipped about on that massive roller coaster.  Carson is not very big, and although he did make the height requirement, it wasn’t by much.  I’m sure that Carson truly did hold on for dear life while he was on it.
 
There have been so many times that I have felt like I was on an out of control roller coaster, and all I could do was cower down and hang on for dear life.   My life was so up and down from the drugs that I took, that I was never sure what state I’d wake up in, or actually if I’d even wake up at all.  I remember one time, not caring if I lived or died, I was just so tired of it all, and it was night time and I was really messed up and I was standing beside a freeway and all the cars were flashing by and I thought how simple it would be to just step out in that traffic and end the ride.
 
But thankfully, God had a hold of me, even when I had no control over myself and he guided me back to safety and even though I wasn’t really sure I wanted to, I held on to my life …
 
Now when the roller coaster gets to spinning, I grab onto JESUS and I hang onto HIM for dear life!
 
Father, thank You for bringing us home safe and sound from a wonderful week of time away.  Thank You for giving Carson fun memories that he’ll never forget and most of all, thank You for saving me from myself so many times, thank You for giving me true life through You!
 
I Love You Jesus.
     In Your Name I Pray,
     Amen
 
 
God Bless You!
Joyce
Submitted by:
     Joyce Schneider 
     A Life Decision
     http://www.alifedecision.org
    

Leave a Reply

