Test My Motives, Lord

Put me on trial, Lord, and cross-examine me Test my motives and affections. Psalm 26:2 NLT 

Do you ever ask the Lord to test your motives?  I’ll be honest, I don’t do that very often.  He knows my motives already, which should be enough to change the reason I do things.  Sometimes it is. Sometimes it seems to me I’m doing something for the right reason, but later it’s revealed that it really wasn’t for the right reason.  Remember that doing good, if it is done by your efforts alone cannot compare to doing good that God calls you to and enables you to do.  When you’re doing good that God called you to do, you’ll know it for sure.  For me, there’s a quiet sense of peace and calmness, a serenity that comes from His presence in me.  That’s when I know I’m doing the good He called me to.  What’s it like for you?

 

In Christ’s Mighty Love,

Elizabeth

 

© Elizabeth Marks, author of ThinkOnIt Devotions and has a heart for encouraging others with God’s Word.  For more articles, devotions and book reviews, visit http://www.ThinkOnItDevotions.com today.

Leave a Reply

